Email – what does Cc, Bcc, To mean. What is the difference between them

Autor: EVmarket Romania
email

Sending an email is very simple if you are addressing a single person. In „To”, you will pass the e-mail address you are sending to (recipient) and press Send. But most of the time you have to send to several people and the question always arises where to put them, in Cc or Bcc. What is the difference between them?

Email technology has remained largely unchanged over the years. Some terms used in email are borrowed from the days when communication was done on paper.

The CC field in an email stands for Carbon Copy, while the BCC field stands for Blind Carbon Copy. In this article, we’ll explain the background, why you need CC and BCC in e-mail, and when to use these fields.

Cc versus Bcc

To send an email to several people who don’t know each other, a sales email for example, in To (recipient) you can put the address from which you are sending (the sender), and in Bcc you can put the rest of the addresses (email addresses will be hidden – invisible).

All e-mail addresses mentioned in the BCC field are kept hidden so that recipients in the TO and CC fields cannot see them.

Electric car specs

If you are sending an email to colleagues or business partners, you can put them in Cc (e-mail addresses will be visible).

Technically, the CC field works exactly like the TO field in e-mail. That is, it makes no difference whether you include an email address in the TO field or in the CC field – the e-mail is delivered to the recipients and each of them can view each other’s email address. So why do you need the CC field? In general, if you receive an e-mail that mentions you in the CC field, you don’t have to reply, you’re just notified.

When should you use BCC in email?

The BCC field is very different from the CC field and actually has a bunch of use cases. Since the e-mail addresses mentioned in the BCC field remain private and hidden, here are some examples where you can use BCC.

When you need to send an e-mail to a large number of recipients without sharing everyone’s e-mail addresses with each other. For example, a teacher needs to send an e-mail to all parents, but does not want to make all e-mail addresses public. In this case, he can put his own e-mail address in the TO field and all his parents’ e-mail addresses in the BCC field.

How to cancel a sent E-MAIL

Google gives users the option to retract an e-mail sent with Gmail if they have set a time of 30 seconds. In Settings in the Cancel sending section the time can be between 5 and 30 seconds. If it is 5 seconds of course you don’t have time to cancel the send.

Steps to cancel sending an email:

  1. Open Gmail
  2. In the top right, click Settings Settings
  3. In the „Undo Send” section, check the box next to „Enable Undo Send”
  4. In the „Send cancellation period” section, set the amount of time you want to decide if you want to unsend an email
  5. At the bottom of the page, click Save Changes.

gmail email anulare

To find out if the e-mail has reached the recipient and has been read, you can install the extensions Bananatag Email Tracking, Sidekick, Intelliverse Email Tracker. To make a message self-destruct after being read, use the Dmail extension for Chrome.

You cannot withdraw access to e-mails you sent before installing Dmail.

How do you destroy a sent E-MAIL / How do I use Dmail

After installing the extension, you’ll see a Dmail toggle switch in the Compose window and some options to set your e-mail to self-destruct. You’ll have complete control over every e-mail you send by keeping the Dmail switch on.

If the e-mail recipient has Dmail installed, they will see the e-mail you sent as a regular Gmail message. If they haven’t installed Dmail or aren’t using an e-mail service other than Gmail, they’ll get a link to the message you sent instead.

Destroying an e-mail you sent with Dmail is simple. Click the Sent folder, find the e-mail and click Undo.

Follow us on Google NewsFacebookTwitter, and LinkedIn

Știri similare